Gillingham Baptist
Church, Kent

Building God’s Community
in the centre of Gillingham

Charity Registration No:  1169112


© Gillingham Baptist Church, Kent - 2018

We are also on Facebook >>>>

HOME Contact Us What's On Regular Activities Notice Board

How We Organise Ourselves


Our current Church Membership total is 154 (June 2016).  This does not include a number of children & young people plus other adult regular attendees.

We have an 'Open Membership' policy with the 'church members meeting' having the authority to accept people into membership. For details of the criteria for membership please contact our minister or the church office.


This includes the Minister and up to twelve (12) elected persons.  Each elected person serves for a maximum of three (3) years before standing down or seeking re-election.  In the past elections took place at the November Church Members' Meeting but this year, due to a change to a Charitable Incorporated Organisation the election was held in May 2017 at our AGM.  The current team consists of the following:

Rev Stephen Greasley  (Minister)

Stephen Greasley trained for the Baptist ministry at Regents Park College, Oxford. He had pastorates at Matson in Gloucester (1988 to  1998); Pear Tree in Derby (1998 to 2011) before moving to Gillingham, Medway. He has been married to Sharon, a social worker, since 1985. Committed to urban ministry and mission, he describes himself as a preacher with a heart for the poor.


Top of the Page HOME

Mr Fred Adams

Dr Roy Jones

Mrs Lyn Newlan

Mr Stephen Carr

Mr Jim Manley

Mr Stephen Powell

Mrs Liz Rowland


Mrs Valerie Turner

Top of the Page HOME


Mrs Cheryl Keating

Church Administrator

Miss Ruth Millard

CAP Debt Centre Manager

Mrs Elizabeth Clark
Families’ Outreach Worker

Bookkeeper:                    Miss Penny Wyatt

Secretary:                    Mrs Maureen Purser

Health & Safety Officer:        Mr Alun Wintle

Safeguarding Trustee:          Mr Jim Manley

Designated Person for Children
& Young People:             Mrs Valerie Turner

Designated Person for
Vulnerable Adults:             Dr Simon Collins

Catering Manager:        Mrs Elizabeth Clark